EY searches for entrepreneur of the year

EY searches for entrepreneur of the year

EY has launched Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016, an awards programme celebrating Scotland’s best entrepreneurs.

EY is calling for nominations from business leaders in Scotland who have demonstrated entrepreneurial flair, whilst growing or turning around the fortunes of their organisation in the UK or overseas.

The programme is accepting entries until 11 March, with finalists announced in April. The programme starts at a UK regional level. Winners at that initial stage will then progress to the UK finals, and the overall UK winner will go on to compete for the title of World Entrepreneur Of The Year in Monte Carlo next year. 

The chief executive of Saltire Energy, Mike Loggie, was named overall EY Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year 2015 and seven other Scottish business leaders were also recognised at last year’s ceremony at Gleneagles.

These were Josh Littlejohn, Social Bite; James Watt, BrewDog; Professor Jim Duffy, Entrepreneurial Spark; Grant Keenan, Keenan Recyling; Andrew Kerr, CMS Windows; Peter Bruce, Entièr, Murray Kerr, SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions.

Now in its 30th year globally and 18th in the UK, EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year programme recognises the passion and drive behind entrepreneurial businesses whether private or listed, socially-orientated, family-owned or private equity-backed, across all commercial and industrial sectors. The awards are now held in more than 145 cities in over 60 countries worldwide.

David Mitchell, EY director of Entrepreneur Of The Year Scotland, said: “Scotland’s entrepreneurs rank among the best in the world and our awards help develop their networks and opportunities on a global scale.

“Entrepreneurs make a vital contribution to Scotland’s economy and it is important to celebrate their successes and nurture the high growth businesses of the future.

“The last 12 months have seen some outstanding entrepreneurial successes in Scotland, and now we’re looking for the most innovative and disruptive entrepreneurs to be named among the next generation of legacy builders.”