Finalists announced for Scottish cyber awards

Finalists announced for Scottish cyber awards

An impressive and growing Scottish cyber security industry will once again come together after the shortlist for the second Scottish Cyber Awards was announced.

A number of Scotland’s top cyber experts met on the 22 September to select this year’s deserved finalists. 

Following last year’s hugely successful inaugural event, those at the forefront of protecting Scottish citizens and businesses against cybercrime will be recognised at the event in November.

The nominees cover a range of sectors, including academia, business and the public sector, with those working in the industry attending the Sheraton Hotel in Edinburgh on November 22, where the winners will be announced.

Napier University, ECS Security Ltd and ZoneFox top the shortlisted nominations with four each.

Categories in this year’s awards include, Best Cyber Start Up, Best Cyber Breakthrough and Outstanding Woman in Cyber, among many others.

Chief executive of the Scottish Business Resilience Centre, who are hosts of the awards, Mandy Haeburn-Little, said: “As technology advances at such a rapid pace, so does the scale, pace and complexity of cybercrime.

“All organisations, no matter large or small, are at risk from cyber criminals and jointly we need to do everything we can to keep Scotland safe.

“There is truly amazing, ground-breaking work happing in Scotland and it ranges from small and brilliant innovation, to work in schools, to new security products and course, the Scottish Government’s Cyber Resilience Strategy. All of these work together to help keep everyone safe. We should be really proud of this growing industry in Scotland. It is important to celebrate their ambition and their vision. It is going to be a great evening.

The awards night has gained impressive backing, with lead sponsor PwC joined by key partners Zonefox and Symantec.

Colin Slater, partner and cyber security lead in Scotland for award sponsor PwC Scotland said: “This is the second year for us to be sponsoring the Cyber Awards and we’re absolutely delighted to be involved - it's an influential award and award ceremony.

“It's an interesting time for the industry given the ever-increasing profile cyber security is receiving in Scotland, so good luck to those shortlisted and it I look forward to congratulating the winners on the night."

The full list of nominees for the awards:


Best Cyber Start Up

Cyber Aggress

ID Cyber Solutions

Quorum Cyber


Best New Cyber Talent

Alexander Young - ECS Security Ltd

Carson Leonard - ZoneFox

Gary Ennis - NSDesign Ltd


Collaboration with Police Scotland

Droman Solutions Ltd

Trend Micro


Cyber Evangelist of the Year

Bill Buchanan - Edinburgh Napier University

Stuart Hirst – Skyscanner

James Kwaan - iSACA Scotland


Cyber Resilient Commuinty Impact award

Law Society of Scotland


Abertay Ethical Hacking Society


Cyber Security Teacher of the Year

Colin Drummond - West Lothian Council

Toni Scullion - St Kentigern's Academy 

Gareth Rae - Girvan Academy


International Contribution to Cyber Security Award


iSACA Scotland

ID Cyber Solutions


Leading Light Innovation


Wallet Services



Best Cyber Breakthrough

Edinburgh Napier University – Symphonic Ltd

Wallet Services


Best Cyber Education Programme



Edinburgh Napier University


Leading Diversity in Cyber

ECS Security Ltd

Seric Systems


Outstanding Cyber Team

Clydesdale Bank

Turing Testers - St Kentigern's Academy 

ECS Secuirty Limited


Outstanding Woman in Cyber

Alison Brogan - ECS Security Limited

Laura Sullivan – ZoneFox

Naghmeh Moradpoor  - Edinburgh Napier University