Solihull student lands engineering scholarship

Solihull student lands engineering scholarship

An 18-year-old Solihull student has secured a three year sponsored undergraduate degree after wowing judges from the Millennium Point Trust with her Urban Futures presentation.

Abigail Lavercombe, from St Martin’s School, competed against six other finalists to win the Millenium Point Trust Young Innovator Prize, where she presented to an audience and esteemed judging panel.

Her presentation on ‘Urban Futures: Birmingham in 2065’ impressed the judges who have awarded her with a sponsored undergraduate degree at Birmingham City University in the Faculty of Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment (CEBE), as well as the opportunity to gain experience through a summer placement with Millennium Point.

“I can’t believe I won this year’s Young Innovator Prize, it’s definitely a dream come true!” said Miss Lavercombe.  

“Winning a sponsored undergraduate degree now means I can pursue my passion for engineering at Birmingham City University and hopefully go on to have a rewarding career in that field.” 

Now in its second year, the prize is designed to encourage talented young people to study science, technology, engineering or mathematics.

The prize was open to all schools, academies and colleges in Birmingham and the Midlands, with students then submitting a video application in order to become shortlisted as a finalist.

The judging panel was made up of Judith Armstrong, CEO at Millennium Point, Simon Handley, associate dean for academic portfolio and market development from Birmingham City University and Lauren Deere, Museum Manager at Thinktank.

Simon Topman, chair of Millennium Point Trust, said: “With more than 40% of our population consisting of young people, its imperative that Birmingham takes action to support the next generation.

“Additionally, it is widely reported that young women are vastly under-represented in science and technology based careers and it is an honour to crown Abigail as this year’s winner.”