Finalists announced for YABA awards

Finalists announced for YABA awards

The Yorkshire Asian Business Association has announced the shortlist for the YABA Annual Awards Dinner 2016, which this year has drawn the highest number of entries ever received.

Judges for the awards include Juliette Healey from Bank of England, Baroness Sayeeda Warsi, Lesley Batchelor from Institute of Export and Tommy Nagra from BBC Television, amongst others.

Juliette Healey said: “The judges were faced with some difficult decisions this year, there are very close categories. We have been so excited by the amount of applications we have received, each with fantastic success in their field. We’re looking forward to announcing the winners at the Awards Dinner”.

With the annual awards dinner now in its third year, the event has grown to become one of the most prestigious celebrations in the Asian business calendar. Sponsors include the Royal Armoured Corps Band, iCO Event Services, Institute of Export and BQ Magazine amongst others all showing the Yorkshire Asian business community support.

The Yorkshire Asian Business Association provides a voice for businesses on a regional, national and international level no matter what size or sector your business. Asian businesses are as diverse as the population of the UK, spanning manufacturing and professional services, retail, entertainment and fashion, hospitality industries, telecommunications and more, and YABA come together each year to celebrate emerging and evolving businesses in the region.

The shortlisted applicants have been invited to the Awards Dinner, where the winners will be announced on 29 September at the Cedar Court Hotel, Bradford. Special awards are sponsored by IA3, GCI and YABA and will be announced on the evening. 

The categories and shortlisted applicants are:

Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year – Sponsored by Leeds Beckett University

Akhtar Kasia – FAAB

Manit – Manjit’s Kitchen

Ricci Dean – Pearl Noir


Food, Drink and Agri-Tech Business of the Year - Sponsored by Institute of Export

Shabir Hussain – Akbars

Mahboob Hussein – Ice Stone Gelato


International Business of the Year – Sponsored by DLA Piper

Rusha Ali – Eurobangla

Ibrahim Najahi – R&R Ice Cream

Richard Smith - Surfachem


Retail Business of the Year – Sponsored by Sytner

Jas – Bradford Bazaar

Kiren Basra – Bierley Superstores


SME Business of the Year – Sponsored by BQ

Amara Sangha – Pamper Me

Nasar Hussain – ITC

Rachim Singh – Petherbridge Bassra Solicitors

Parvinder Bhabra – Northern Cam Co Ltd

Salma Karolia – Salma’s Beauty Academy


Professional of the Year – Sponsored by The Royal Armoured Corps

Iqbal Bhana – Iqbal Bhana

Noor Ali – WM Morrison Supermarkets PLC

Pritpal Singh – PWC

Ranjit Uppal – Switalskis Solicitors