New Year Honours for Yorkshire business leaders

New Year Honours for Yorkshire business leaders

A number of business leaders from across Yorkshire and the Humber have been honoured by HRH The Queen in her New Year Honours List for 2017.

The Mayor of Doncaster Ros Jones was just one of the names featured in the list after being awarded a Commander of the Order of the British Empire for her service to local government.

Born in Askern and living all of her life in Doncaster, Mayor Jones said she was “truly honoured and humbled” to have been chosen as a recipient.

She said: “I am truly honoured and humbled to have been recognised in this way. It is a great recognition, not just of my work, but the work of everyone who has helped make our borough a better place.

“I would particularly like to thank all of the staff and partners who have helped us to turn Doncaster Council around and we are now a well-run authority which is supporting local people and the economy.”

Mohammad Taj, a bus driver from Bradford and the TUC's first Muslim President, was also among those to be honoured with an OBE for services to trade unionism.

Also included in the honours list were:

Prof Emeritus Carol Christine Smart from Leeds, a professor of sociology at the University of Manchester and co-director of Morgan Centre for the Study of Relationships and Personal Life.

Jane Acklam - executive principal and chief executive officer of the Moor End Academies Trust. For services to education.

Alexander Clive Fox, chief executive officer, Shared Lives Plus. For services to social care.

Colin Glass, a senior partner at Winburn Glass Norfolk, for services to business start-ups and entrepreneurship.

Christopher Steven Green, founder of the White Ribbon Campaign. For services to equality.

James Henry Newman, Lately chair, Sheffield City Region Local Enterprise Partnership board. For services to business, the economy and charity in Yorkshire. 

Charlotte Victoria Sweeney from Dewsbury, director of Charlotte Sweeney Associates. For services to women and equality.

George Vernon Wells, chair of the Selby College Corporation. For services to further education.

Catherine Monica Parlett, chair of the Lighthouse Trust in Leeds. For services to children with special educational needs and disabilities.  

Gillian Joan Adele Palner, founder of the Marie Collins Foundation in Ripon. For services to abused children.

Sylvia Marian (Sue) Evason, joint founder of the Jennyruth Workshop, Ripon. For services to people with learning difficulties in Yorkshire.